To Promote Stronger and More Flexible Research and Practice

Disaster mitigation management aims to reduce or avoid the potential losses from natural hazards, to assure prompt assistance to victims, to achieve rapid and effective recovery, and to build disaster-resilient and sustainable societies, by five stages of the disaster management cycle; Mitigation, Preparedness, Response, Recovery, and Reconstruction. The action-oriented research of the IRIDeS is a pursuit of each point in the cycle and integrating and universalizing the scientific discoveries to be dedicated to the world.

Introduction to International Research Institute of Disaster Science

Professor Makoto Okumura from IRIDeS (International Research Institute of Disaster Science), Tohoku University gave a talk entitled "Introduction to IRIDeS" at the Multi-hazard Summer School of the Tohoku Forum for Creativity, Tohoku University. Recovery from the Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami: Future Strategies for Disaster Risk Reduction (2014DIS) "Multi-hazard Summer School" -- July 22 - 25, 2014 @ Tohoku University

IRIDeS focuses on the following:

1. Examining and analyzing global-scale disasters caused by natural hazards.

2. Reconstruction projects that incorporated disaster risk reduction based on the lessons of the 2011 Tohoku earthquake and tsunami.

3. Innovating studies to support disaster-affected areas, and reevaluating the disaster cycle and recovery from historical viewpoints.

4. Enhancing disaster-resiliency and performance of multiple-fail-safe systems in regional and urban areas.

5. Establishing medicine and medical service systems towards catastrophic natural disasters.

6. Designing disaster-resilient societies and developing digital archive system to pass on the lessons from previous catastrophes.

Future Phases

Check out an overview of each competition phase below - complete rules for each phase will be released as the competition progresses.


Let’s Get Started.

To apply or join the program, please submit an application.